top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureStudio Polita

Developing Design Contexts- Finalising My Portfolio

As I had finished the design of my portfolio, my goal for today was to upload the final web template onto my website. However, this proved to be more difficult than I had expected!

 

On my title page, I wanted to include hyperlinks to each project to make it easily accessible for viewers. However as the web template had come with previously added buttons, some of the hyperlinks were connected to the wrong pages since I had altered them. This meant I had to go through each page and remove all the originally added hyperlinks, to avoid miscommunications with my own buttons.

 

Once I had finished adding my own links to each page, I used the preview shortcut to view my finished portfolio, and to check if any other alterations had to be made.


The first preview I tried, none of the hyperlinks seemed to be functioning properly, and some of the final pages weren't showing any writing. I was able to figure out the issue with the hyperlinks after a few tries, however the issue to do with text was more of a challenge.

I tried changing the arrangement of the text in case it was unintentionally behind a background, but that didn't seem to make any difference. Eventually I discovered that the InDesign layers were in the wrong order, and the text had been misarranged. I previewed the page once again to check all the issues had been properly sorted, and I was happy with the final outlook.

 

My final challenge for my portfolio was to figure out how add it to my website. After researching, I learned that I had to embed the link onto one of my pages using the html code provided. I was able to easily add the link into my website, but when I went to preview the website, it was only showing up as a small icon. I went back to change the webpage to a reasonable size, however to make sure that my portfolio was easily accessible, I also added a hyperlink to the top of the page, so my portfolio could be viewed in full screen.

 

Although the overall process took much longer than I had anticipated, I am extremely pleased with the outlook of my professional design portfolio, and I have been able to learn more about both the InDesign software, as well as my own wix website!

I have attached a link to my portfolio at the bottom of this post, or you can view it by clicking on the portfolio button at the top of my page.

 

3 views0 comments

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page